What does the Hide Account option do and how do I use it?

Sometimes when you connect MoneyBrilliant to your bank or financial institution you will have accounts that you don’t want included in MoneyBrilliant. An example might be a business account or an SMSF cash account that is connected to your internet banking facility. You want all the personal accounts to show in MoneyBrilliant but not the business account or the SMSF cash account.

Another common example is where you share accounts with your partner, or use complementary credit cards. These types of arrangements can cause accounts and the transactions in those accounts to be duplicated in MoneyBrilliant (because the same account is included in one or more connections you have made) so you want to remove one of the duplicated accounts while leaving the other.

Usually, MoneyBrilliant will automatically collect account balance and transaction information for all accounts available using the credentials you provide.

If you Hide an account from MoneyBrilliant the account balance and transactions will be excluded from all aspects of the MoneyBrilliant app. MoneyBrilliant will continue to collect balance and transaction information for the account but you will not see it.

Later, if you decide to Unhide an account you have previously hidden, all the historical balance and transaction information that has been collected for the account will become visible in the MoneyBrilliat app again.

The Hide account option gives you the flexibility to Hide and Unhide an account from the MoneyBrilliant app without losing historical account balance and transaction information.

If you want to permanently remove an account from MoneyBrilliant you can also use the Delete account option (see below). Be warned though, if you Delete an account you may lose account balance and transaction history if you subsequently decide to connect that account to MoneyBrilliant again.

To Hide an account simply go to the Accounts screen, select the account you wish to Hide, select Edit Account and enable the Hide Account check box or toggle.